Sunset in Fiji

Fijian Sunset at Beqa Lagoon

I took this while I was trying to catch the somewhat elusive “green flash” at sunset. I actually did get a photo of the green flash, but I forgot that I had turned on the bracketing function of my camera for an HDR photo earlier in the day, so it was way overexposed. Since the flash lasts for maybe a second or two, that’s all it took to miss out. Once I realized my mistake i was left with a regular old sunset.

If you aren’t familiar with the green flash, it’s a phenomenon that can be viewed on an unobstructed horizon, usually just before sunrise, or just after sunset. There are several causes for this phenomena, but in short it has to due with the way light is refracted in the atmosphere, as the sun sets.

2 thoughts on “Sunset in Fiji

Leave a comment